Vermilion County Clerk
6 North Vermilion Street
Courthouse Annex - 1st Floor
Danville, Illinois 61832
Phone: (217) 554-1900
How do you obtain a Marriage License
Union License from Vermilion County, IL?
To obtain a marriage license or a civil union
license both parties
must appear at the office of Cathy Jenkins, County Clerk, Vermilion County
Courthouse Annex (6 North Vermilion, Danville, Illinois). The office is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am
until 4:30 pm, and is closed on all legal holidays.
Anyone obtaining a marriage license
or civil union license in
Vermilion County may use the license only in Vermilion County. The license must
be obtained at least one day prior to being used, and is void 60 days after its
effective date. The marriage or civil union
must be recognized under the laws of
the state in which the couple reside.
for a marriage license or civil union license is $50.00.
The age requirement for a
marriage license without parental consent is 18 years old.
Parental consent for 16 and 17 year olds wishing to be married must be given by
both natural parents. In case of divorce, both parents must still sign,
regardless of which parent has legal custody. If one parent is deceased, a
death certificate must be shown. No one, under any circumstances, may be
married under the age of sixteen (16). Non-residents cannot obtain a marriage
license if the marriage would be void in their home state.
At this time there is no provision in the new Civil Union law giving
any person permission to obtain a civil union license if either party
is under the age of 18. (06/01/11)
or civil union license must be returned to
the County Clerk's office by the officiant of the ceremony within ten (10) days
after the date of the marriage. If you wish to be married by a judge, you may
make arrangements prior to the ceremony by calling the Circuit Clerk's office
How do you obtain a Copy of Marriage License
a Copy of a Civil Union License
from Vermilion County, IL?
obtain a copy of a marriage license or civil union license, the requesting party must state the
groom's name, the bride's name (at the time of the marriage), or
Partner A's name and Partner B's name (at the time of the civil union), and the date of
the marriage or civil union.
The fee is
$15.00 for each certified copy of the marriage or civil union
license, and $8.00 for each additional copy of the same record requested at the
obtain a copy of a marriage license or a copy of a civil union license, complete the
Application for Vital Records Form, include a
copy of a photo id (or 2 forms of other id if not available) and a money order
made payable to County Clerk and mail to:
Vermilion County Clerk's Office
Danville, IL 61832
records (birth certificate, death certificate and marriage license) are not
public records, and therefore are not subject to the Freedom of Information